DexKnows reviews

The Mitered Corner Frame Shop by CJM

05/23/2009

 

I've been having my framing done here for many years and have always been completely satisfied. The proprietor keeps her training up to date, is very knowlegeable about conservation framing, and specializes in shadow boxes. She has done some very fine multiple-opening matting of my family photos. I have posters she vacuum mounted 20 years ago that look as good as the day I brought them home. Her prices are reasonable. Her craftsmanship and artistic taste are excellent. I have always been served in a professional, friendly manner.
Google reviews
a year ago
This picture frame shop has a wonderful attention to detail. Their years of experience lead to stunning results everytime. Terry is always very helpful selecting a frame that complements the picture and space its going in.

 

YELP reviews
 
 
Sort by: Yelp Sort | Date | Rating | Elites' | Facebook Friends'
 

4 reviews in English

  • Review from

    Photo of Kelcey R.
    • 1friend
    • 12reviews

    Seattle, WA

    5.0 star rating

     6/5/2012

    I decided on this place because of the two 5-star reviews from 2010. It would seem that things have not changed at The Mitered Corner since then. Terry talked with me for an hour, pulling down different frame and mat styles, listening carefully to everything I said, offered great combinations, and treated my artwork like it was her own.

    Obviously, after spending that long finding just the right frame, I was going to spend the money. However, she cheerfully said "now I'll go add all this up and let you know how much this will be and then you can decide if you want to work with us!" The price wasn't too high, she was just being low-pressure, which I really appreciate. When I saw the price, I asked how much more it would be to get glare-reduction glass. She spent another few minutes explaining and demonstrating how it doesn't make enough of a difference to be worth the price increase, and that there are special ways to angle your light sources or the picture itself to reduce glare. So not only is she a low-pressure salesperson, she's not going to rip you off either.

    She had it ready right on time and when I arrived to pick it up she explained that the print was actually not square - one side was 1/8 inch shorter than the other. From the hour we spent together choosing everything for it, it was clear that she's a perfectionist and I know she agonized over getting that matting to fit right. It looks amazing and no one would ever be able to tell that the print wasn't perfectly square. 

    Fantastic service and 100% worth the money!

  • Review from

    Photo of Bernie C.
    • 40friends
    • 15reviews

    Seattle, WA

    5.0 star rating

     8/1/2010

    My wife and I just had two vintage posters framed by this shop and we couldn't be happier with the results.  One of the posters is a vintage early 1900s advertisement for French Cognac and is quite large (46" w by 63" h).  The fit of the frame is impeccable and the owner went to great length to explain how she came up with her estimates for us.  The framed piece is so large we couldn't transport it from the shop back home; no matter, she managed to help us out with that.

    We're framing newbies, but we think we found the best frame shop in the area and the quality and construction of the work plus great customer service means we'll be customers for many years.

  • Review from

    Photo of Tracey H.
    • 22friends
    • 28reviews

    Seattle, WA

    5.0 star rating

     3/31/2010 First to Review

    My husband and I have been going here for years.  (As had his parents before us).  Excellent work at a reasonable price done in a reasonable time frame.  The owner is extremely friendly and really invested in making sure that your piece is framed in the way that best suits it esthetically.  She also takes preservation into consideration and offers advice on how best to hang pieces.  If you have a piece you need framed, I highly recommend seeking out the Mitered Corner.

  • Review from

    Photo of Marina M.
    • 0friends
    • 1review

    Seattle, WA

    5.0 star rating

     12/11/2012

    I stopped at this neighborhood frame shop, hoping to get some matting for artwork I had just completed. the owner spent over 1/2 hour with me, chatting- and I felt so welcome. I have worked in the framing industry for 30 years. I ended up with a pre-cut mat that worked perfectly for my needs. EXCELLENT Customer Service is exactly what this business personifies and I will be going back again today!

From Yelp's "hidden" reviews:
 
Photo of Gloria W.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
5.0 star rating

4/17/2013

There is no better framing store anywhere in Seattle.  These folks are so honest, fair, knowledgable, friendly and they truly care about you and your artwork.  I love just going into the shop.  Such a laid back home town feeling.  I love looking at her prints which she offers at amazingly reasonable prices.  Her prices are just right.  She will do all the work or guide you as you frame your work, which is so much fun to do.  I have used their services for years and have never been even the slightest bit disappointed.
Also, Terry has been so generous with me, a teacher, on several occasions.  She is happy to donate when she can.  Most recently, she donated 50 cut mats for our schools art show.
This place is a treasure.  Look no further, here is where you want to take your art and treasures to be framed!!!!

Photo of Susan M.
  • 0friends
  • 4reviews
5.0 star rating

12/31/2010

This is the best little owner-run frame shop around. I've had several pictures framed here and every time they helped me pick the perfect frame and/or matting to complement the artwork. They give pricing options and great advice. I always recommend this store if I sell some artwork that needs framing.

Photo of Cinda M.
  • 0friends
  • 2reviews
5.0 star rating

5/23/2009

I've been having my framing done at the Mitered Corner for many years and have always been completely satisfied. The proprietor keeps her training up to date, is very knowlegeable about conservation framing, and specializes in shadow boxes. She has done some very fine multiple-opening matting of my family photos. I have posters she vacuum mounted 20 years ago that look as good as the day I brought them home. Her prices are reasonable. Her craftsmanship and artistic taste are excellent. I have always been served in a professional, friendly manner.

 
Photo of Kelly F.
  • 1friend
  • 2reviews
5.0 star rating

12/22/2013

A while ago I visited the Mitered Corner with a picture my daughter had given me for Christmas.I had never been to a custom frame shop before and had no idea of the process or price involved, I only knew I wanted to do something really special with this picture.The owner (Terry) spent over an hour with me both listening to my story and helping to decide on colors and styles for the mat and frame.

When I picked up the piece I could not have been more pleased.  It is perfect and as I see it day after day in my home I am so thankful I had a professional do this work.

I could never have created the effect that Terry did and the cost was not prohibitive at all.  
If ever I need another picture framed, I will be there.
                                                       Kelly Finn